Photo by Daniel Ketter

April 16, 2023


The Outburst Chamber Orchestra serves as CMS-ICT’s resident group and it brings together the most dedicated chamber musicians from the region. The ensemble’s variety of instrumental combinations allow for performances of virtually the full range of repertoire available in the western classical tradition. See individual bios below.

Clarinetist Leslie Nicholas has been on the faculties of Vanderbilt’s Blair School of Music, UNC-Chapel Hill, Georgia State University, and James Madison University, among others.  He has been principal clarinetist with the West Virginia Symphony, ProMusica Columbus, the Dallas Chamber Orchestra, Civic Orchestra of Chicago, and Central City Opera.  Mr. Nicholas has performed in chamber settings with distinguished artists such as: Jon Kimura Parker, Yolanda Kondonassis, Anton Kuerti, William Preucil, David Shifrin, Christopher O’Riley, and the Veronika Quartet of Moscow, among others.  He has recorded and toured internationally with Musica Harmonia, and he performs frequently with the Allegheny Trio.  He has also toured as a member of the Pastiche, Montpellier, and Blair Woodwind Quintets.


Dr. Eun-Hee Park is Assistant Professor of Music and Head of the Keyboard Area at the University of Montevallo. Her previous appointments include the Hartt School, University of Southern Mississippi, and Interlochen Arts Camp. As a founding member of enhakē, the prize-winning clarinet-violin-cello-piano quartet, Park has received many awards and grants, including First Prize at the Yellow Springs International Competition, Gold Medal at the International Chamber Music Ensemble Competition, the Judges Special Recognition Prize at the Plowman Chamber Music Competition, and an Encore Grant from the American Composers Forum. Their Naxos album Gulfstream was selected as BBC Music Magazine’s Music US Choice, MusicWeb International’s “CD of the Month,” and Naxos Critics’ Choice.  Concerning this particular album, Gramophone stated, “[p]ianist Eun-Hee Park’s fast, light-fingered touch…provides numerous moments of purely physical delight.”


Dr. Jeb Wallace serves as full-time Horn Professor at Wichita State University, maintains an active performance schedule as Principal Horn with the Wichita Symphony and Music Theater Wichita, and as hornist with the Wichita Brass Quintet and Lieurance Woodwind Quintet. An advocate for contemporary music, Dr. Wallace has collaborated with groups such as the Ad-Venturi Horn Duo, Inverness Chamber Players, Alarm Will Sound, TACTUS, New Music New Haven, and the Stony Brook Contemporary Chamber Players, and has premiered more than a dozen new works featuring the horn. He is currently recording a CD of new works for horn for Beauport Classical. He has commissioned and premiered more than two dozen new works featuring horn, working alongside composers such as Robert Bradshaw, James Naigus, Scott Wise, Warren Benson, Eric Flesher, Peter Gilbert, and many others.


M. Brent Williams is the Founder/Artistic Director of the Chamber Music Society of Wichita and a member of the Rio Verde String Quartet.  He was previously on the faculties of Valdosta State University and Fort Lewis College in addition to summer positions at the Music in the Mountains Conservatory and Chapel Hill Chamber Music Workshop.  Williams was also Concertmaster of the San Juan Symphony and Albany Symphony Orchestra. With his group enhakē, he won the Grand Prize at the Yellow Springs Chamber Music Competition, First Prize at the 3rd International Chamber Music Ensemble Competition, and was a finalist at the Osaka International Chamber Music Competition and Festa (Japan). Williams has also performed chamber music with the award-winning Sima Trio, violinists Jinjoo Cho, L.P. How, and Matt Albert, bassist Frank Proto, and guitarist Oren Fader. He has recorded for the MSR, Naxos, Koch, Emeritus, Barsuk, Pias America, Nub, and Alchemist record labels.